Author Jude Deveraux

The Edilean Series

Scarlet NightsScarlet Nights
Days of GoldDays of Gold
Lavender MorningLavender Morning
The Scent of JasmineThe Scent of Jasmine
Moonlight in the MorningMoonlight in the Morning
Stranger in the MoonlightStranger in the Moonlight
Moonlight MasqueradeMoonlight Masquerade
Change of HeartChange of Heart

Edilean is this small town in Virginia.  It is in this small town that these books are based, or at least for the most part.  Some end up being set as historical, but for the most part, this book series is contemporary in feel.

Please note that the publication of these books are not in the order that they are in the book series.  She published Lavender Morning first and then went on to Scarlet Nights and Days of Gold.  

Book 1, Scarlet Nights, opens the storyline with Sara Shaw and Mike Newland.  She is engaged to the wrong man and he is going to make sure that she sees what he really is. 

This is where you find that there is tons of background info that you need to know to really understand the plot line.

Book 2, Days of Gold, takes us back to the 1700s.  This one gives you the details that you need to help you understand some of the issues that modern-day Edilean are having.  This is the story of Edilean Talbot and Angus McTern and how they had to flee to America and how they brought their wealth with them.

Book 3, Lavender Morning, starts filling in the blanks of the characters and how everything fits together.  This book brings in Jocelyn Minton when she is really little.  She is befriended by Edilean Harcourt.  What you find out almost at the end, is that Edi is Jocelyn's grandmother.  Edi leaves everything to Jocelyn and even finds the perfect man for her to marry. 

This is a sad story of where not everyone has a happy ending.

Promises, is an ebook offered from vook.  It is the only one in this series that I have not read.

Book 4, The Scent of Jasmine, is also a historical novel in 1799.  This one has Catherine Edilean Harcourt doing a favor for her ailing godfather, T.C.  She takes some supplies to Alex McDowell and that is the beginning of some adventure that is the entertaining banter between the main characters of the stories that I like.

Book 5, Heartwishes, takes us back to the current century.  Gemma, a history buff, is excited to work for a prominent family in Edilean and be able to organize a bunch of old papers.  The family that she ends up working for are the Frazier family.  One son, Colin, catches her eye.  This story keeps you on your toes.

This book is about a mystical stone that grants the owner of it, their heart's most deepest wish.  Each of the characters has a deep wish and the story follows how they come true in different ways.

Book 6, Moonlight in the Morning, is the beginning of a trilogy within the book series.  These three books are connected by the girls being college roomies and friends.  There is Jecca, Kim and Sophie.  Kim is from Edilean and encourages both her friends to come.

It starts with Jecca Layton.  She is enamored with Kim's brother but ends up being basically invisible to him.  While the town doc, Tristan Aldredge, has kept an eye on Jecca for several years.  

What I like in this book is the approach that Jude Deveraux puts for how Tristan and Jecca to meet.  It is completely in the moonlight, hence the title of the book.  It gives the story line an edge that is sweet and endearing.  I found a book review from fictionvixen.com that I really liked.

Book 7, Stranger in the Moonlight, is Kim's story.  She encountered Travis Merritt when she was young and became enamored with him then but then he disappeared.  Now many years later, he comes back to see if she knows how to have fun.  The story line is of then reconnecting.

Book 8, Moonlight Masquerade, is about Sophie Kincaid.  She comes to Edilean hoping to escape her life, but instead almost gets run over by Kim's doctor cousin that is filling in for Tristan.  Reede does not want to fill Tristan's shoes although after making certain connections, he is more willing to stick around than before.  

Book 9, Change of Heart, is still attached to the Edilean thought-line but is just another story with connections to Edilean.  And connections to the Montgomery/Taggart Series as well.  Eli Harcourt orchestrates his mother getting together with Frank Taggart.

Elijah Harcourt and Chelsea Hamilton are an unlikely pair.  They were the best of friends as kids and then their families moved and they lost touch with each other.  Even though the story line is kinda cheezy, I enjoyed it.


Please share with other romance readers so they can know MORE too!

Need help coming up with any new #bookideas?? Follow this link to see some great ideas to choose from!

Shental's Blog!! 
Finding a decent romance book is tough!  Let me help!

Want more #bookideas to help you choose a great romance book?

Check these ones out:

Click on the links to see the answers to these questions and more!!