The Maverick of Copper Creek by RC Ryan

The Maverick of Copper Creek by RC RyanBook 1

The Maverick of Copper Creek is the 1st book in the Copper Creek Cowboys Series by RC Ryan.

This series is about the men that are the sons of Murdoch (Bear) Mackenzie.  There's Ash, and Griff and Whit.

Ash is the oldest until Griff shows. Check out Griff's story here.

This first book is all about Ash.  He is the oldest of Bear's sons (at least for this book).

Ash and his father do nothing but fight and argue.  Ash feels like he can't do anything right by his father.  And in a fit of anger, he walks away from his father, mother, his younger brother Whit, and all the hands at the Mackenzie ranch.

So the story starts several years later, after Ash had worked hard to make something for himself.

But when he gets word that his father has been shot in cold blood, he drops everything to go home to his family.

And it's when he goes back home that he realizes that leaving was not what he wanted.  He wanted to be home with his family.  

And it's back at home that he runs into Brenna Crane again - literally!!

He saves her from getting run over not only twice but she saves him from a sharp bottle in the back of his head during a barroom brawl.

So as they spend more time together, they mend each others hearts despite being ripped apart by the senseless murder of his father.

And during this book, you meet a whole cast of characters.  There's of course, Whit, his younger brother.  Then there's Willow, his mother.  And Brady Storm, their trusted ranch manager.  And you can't forget Mad, his grandfather.

The biggest surprise of all is finding out that he has an older brother by the name of Griff.  Griff was born to a school teacher that lived near Bear before Bear married Willow.  His story is here.

So this first book is how Ash mends his heart not only with Brenna but also with his mother and younger brother Whit (Whit's story is here).

You'll enjoy this series.  You don't need to read them in order but that does help when you see the previous characters has moved on and what they are up to.  All of the characters play a part in this whole series.

And you do find out in the end who killed Bear, but you have to read book 3 to know that.

Check out the other books in the Copper Creek Cowboys Series:

Here's the recipe in the Maverick of Copper Creek:

Mad MacKenzie's Garlic Mashed Potatoes

(Adjust the quantity if some family members are absent.)

When the entire MacKenzie family is present:

5-10 lbs. potatoes, peeled, quartered, and brought to a boil in a huge pot of water, along with 4 cloves of garlic

Simmer until cooked to a soft consistency (approx. 20 to 25 mins), depending on amount of potatoes.

Drain and pour into large mixing bowl.

Add 1/2 a cup of milk and 1/2 a stick of butter, depending on amount of potatoes.

(For a creamier potato, add a package of cream cheese as well.)

Mix all ingredients well and serve with Mad's tender pot roast.

If you liked The Maverick of Copper Creek, you might like: